Concealed Weapons Permit

Georgia protects the right to bear arms under Article I, Section I of the state constitution, but this does not mean that everyone may carry a gun, or that you may always carry a gun wherever you like. Georgia requires a weapons carry license to openly carry a weapon, or to carry a concealed weapon on (or near) your body. (Ga. Code Ann. § 16-11-125.1.) The Wayne County Probate Court issue firearms licenses to county residents 21 and older.

A license to carry authorizes a person to carry a handgun openly or in certain concealed positions. These include: in a shoulder or waist belt holster, hip grip, or similar device, handbag, purse, attaché case, briefcase, or other closed container.

Start the process online

Start your Firearms License/Renewal License Application ONLINE to expedite your services. Once you receive your confirmation number, print that page and take it to the Probate Court office to complete your application process.

Requirements - All Applicants

  • Must be 21 years of age
  • Must be a resident of Wayne County
  • Must present a picture identification including applicant's physical address
  • Must be prepared to be photographed without hat or glasses

Proof of residency is required and the Probate Court will accept your driver's license if it has your correct Wayne County address or at least two other documents showing your current address. Documents accepted include a current utility bill, property tax bill, real estate deed, lease agreement, voter registration or vehicle registration. We also accept a current bank statement, credit card bill or cell phone bill.

Military personnel 18-20 years old may apply for a weapons carry license if adequate proof of the following is provided to the court: that you have completed basic training, that you are actively serving in the armed forces of the United States or that you have been honorably discharged from such service.   

Foreign nationals must have INS resident card. If you are a naturalized US citizen, you should bring your naturalization papers.

Once the application process is complete at the Probate Court, all applicants will get fingerprinted at the Sheriff’s Office. These Fingerprint Cards will be sent to the FBI and GCIC.

Renewal Applicants

To keep your permit current, you must apply for a new permit every five years. Please bring your current permit along with your valid driver's license to the Wayne County Probate Court. Your driver's license should reflect your correct Wayne County address. If it does not show your correct address, please contact our office for additional information.

If you have a current Gun Permit, you may come in 90 days before your expiration date but no later than 30days after your expiration date to renew your Gun Permit at a reduced fee (see below for fees).

Applicants can expect to receive their licenses in approximately two weeks unless something comes back on their background check.


New Applicants: $77.50
Renewal Applicants: $37.00

The Probate Court accepts cash, money orders, debit/credit cards only.

Replacement Permits

To request a replacement permit, you will be required to provide your Driver's License. You will fill out an affidavit explaining what happened to your permit, (ex. lost, stolen). The fee for a replacement permit is $6.00. The replacement license will be the same type license it is replacing. For example, if the license you lost was the older laminated style, that is the replacement you will receive. For further questions, please speak with a vital records clerk.


Georgia firearms permit holders should familiarize themselves with the individual requirements and limitations on firearms permits in any of the reciprocating states where they wish to exercise their rights under this reciprocity program. Georgia currently reciprocates in recognizing firearms licenses with the following states. Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.